Claude Duet Review: Waitlist, Features & vs ChatGPT Agent

Anthropic opened a research preview of Claude Duet on October 21, 2026, and it quickly became one of the most searched AI launches of the week. Unlike a regular chatbot, Duet doesn’t wait for you to type a prompt. It watches the apps you connect, tells you what needs your attention, and keeps working on tasks in the background.

This guide is based on Anthropic’s launch materials and early reporting. Access is limited to a waitlist, so it is not a hands-on test. Details can change quickly during a research preview.

What Is Claude Duet?

Claude Duet is a standalone app where Claude works as a proactive agent. It is built on Claude Opus 5.5, and Anthropic says that model gives it the judgment to decide what needs you, what can wait, and when to check with you first.

It is aimed at professionals and small business owners who have more on their plates than they can track. Duet runs on iOS, Android and the web at claude.ai, and it lives in its own app, separate from the main Claude app.

What Can Claude Duet Do?

Based on Anthropic’s announcement and early coverage, Duet can:

  • Send a morning brief. It checks your connected apps and summarizes what needs action.
  • Work while you’re away. It runs on its own cloud computer with a browser, so tasks continue after you close the app or lock your phone. You get a notification when it finishes or needs a decision.
  • Connect to thousands of apps. More than 6,000 connectors are reported, including Gmail, Slack, QuickBooks, Stripe, Gusto, Docusign, HubSpot, Canva and Shopify.
  • Handle back-office chores. Examples include finding unpaid invoices and drafting collection emails, preparing payroll, getting contracts ready for signature, scheduling, building dashboards and producing forecasts.
  • Make purchases. Payments go through single-use virtual cards from Stripe Link or Shopify Shop Pay.

Setup is light because Duet carries over the memory, skills and app connections from your existing Claude account.

How Claude Duet Handles Safety

An agent that can send emails and spend money needs limits. Anthropic has set several:

  • Duet asks for your approval before it sends a message, makes a payment, signs a document or deletes anything.
  • Two actions are blocked entirely, even with your consent: trading securities and moving money between accounts.
  • It never directly sees your passwords. You enter credentials in a separate form on your own phone.
  • A classifier blocks the outbound sharing of credit card numbers and government ID numbers.
  • You can disconnect any app at any time. Note that disconnecting stops future access but does not erase memories already stored from past conversations.

Who Can Join the Claude Duet Waitlist?

The research preview is currently limited to:

  • Location: the United States only
  • Plans: Claude Pro and Max subscribers
  • Not yet included: Team and Enterprise plans

Pro costs $20 per month on monthly billing, and Max starts at $100 per month.

How to Join the Waitlist, Step by Step

  1. Check your plan. You need a Claude Pro or Max subscription and a US account.
  2. Open Anthropic’s Claude Duet page. The announcement is at claude.com/resources/articles/claude-duet, and it includes the waitlist link.
  3. Join the waitlist. Anthropic says it will email you as soon as Duet is ready for your account.
  4. Get the app. Once you’re admitted, use the iOS or Android app, or open Duet through claude.ai. Your memory, skills and connected apps carry over.

One reported perk: people admitted to the preview get a one-time reset of their five-hour and weekly usage limits, available until November 30, 2026.

Does Claude Duet Cost Extra?

Not during the preview. Duet is included in Pro and Max and shares the same usage limits as the rest of Claude. Anthropic notes that it uses those limits differently than a typical chat, so background work may use them up faster than you’d expect. Anthropic hasn’t said what pricing will look like after the preview ends.

Claude Duet vs. ChatGPT Agent and OpenAI’s Dots

The biggest difference is initiative. ChatGPT’s agent mode is built around tasks you start by asking. Claude Duet is designed to come to you first with what needs attention, then act once you approve.

The closer OpenAI rival is dots, an always-on personal agent that OpenAI released on September 29, 2026. Meta’s Muse is another competitor, launched in the US in mid-September.

FeatureClaude DuetOpenAI dotsMeta Muse
LaunchOct. 21, 2026Sept. 29, 2026Mid-September 2026
Underlying modelClaude Opus 5.5GPT-6 AstraMuse Spark
AvailabilityUS Pro and Max, waitlistPaid tiers from $100/monthUS, broad release
Cloud computer and browserYesYesYes
PurchasesVia Stripe Link and Shopify Shop PayNot specifiedNot specified

Pricing is where Duet stands out for now. It is included in the $20 Pro plan, while dots starts at $100 per month. Remember that Duet is waitlist-only and US-only, so being cheaper on paper doesn’t mean it’s available to everyone yet.

Limitations to Know About

  • It can misjudge urgency. Anthropic says Duet may misread a thread or miscalibrate what’s urgent, and it plans to keep tuning it based on tester feedback.
  • Personal errands are weaker. Tasks like booking tickets are not yet its strong suit. Its core abilities center on work tasks.
  • Some websites push back. Amazon has blocked Meta’s Muse from shopping on its site, and Walmart announced a gateway with rules for agents. How Duet will behave when a site blocks it hasn’t been detailed yet.
  • It’s an early preview. Expect changes, and expect access to open gradually.

Is Claude Duet Worth Joining?

If you’re a US Pro or Max subscriber whose day revolves around email, Slack, invoices and scheduling, joining the waitlist is an easy call. It costs nothing extra, and the approval step before sensitive actions keeps you in control.

If you mainly want a chatbot for questions and writing, Duet won’t change much for you. And if you’re outside the US, you’ll have to wait for a wider rollout.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Claude Duet? A proactive AI agent app from Anthropic that monitors your connected apps, sends morning briefs and completes tasks in the background, checking with you before it acts.

Is Claude Duet free? There is no separate charge during the research preview. It is included in Claude Pro and Max and shares their usage limits.

Is Claude Duet available outside the US? Not yet. The preview is limited to US Pro and Max subscribers.

Which model powers Claude Duet? Claude Opus 5.5.

Can Claude Duet spend my money without asking? No. It asks for approval before payments, and purchases use single-use virtual cards. Securities trading and account transfers are blocked completely.

How is Claude Duet different from ChatGPT’s agent? Duet starts conversations and works in the background on its own, while ChatGPT’s agent mode is built around tasks you request.

Short version: Read the short version of this guide on Medium: Claude Duet AI Agent

Sources

Leave a Comment